Joint Statement by the EMASoH participating countries on the seizure and detention by Iran of two Greek ships in the Gulf


The countries participating in the European-led Maritime Awareness Mission in the Strait of Hormuz (EMASoH), Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, The Netherlands, Norway, and Portugal, condemn the seizure of two Greek oil tankers by Iran on May 27 and call on the Iranian authorities to immediately release the crews and ships.

The seizure of the two ships, while they were transiting in the Gulf, one of them in international waters, and their ongoing detention, put at risk the safety and freedom of navigation in the region in breach of international law.

  We call for the immediate release of the two ships, their crews and cargoes, while ensuring the good treatment of the crew members, their access to consular assistance, supplies, and their free communication.

The EMASoH partners emphasize the utmost importance of maritime safety and freedom of navigation in an area crucial for international stability and commerce. EMASoH has been engaging constructively with the Governments of all bordering states in the Gulf, the Strait of Hormuz and the Gulf of Oman, to this avail. It remains committed to engaging in pursuit of this mission.    

Any questions contact pressevagten@um.dk

Information om Udenrigsministeriet

Asiatisk Plads 2
1448 København K

33 92 00 00http://um.dk/

Følg pressemeddelelser fra Udenrigsministeriet

Skriv dig op her, og modtag pressemeddelelser på e-mail. Indtast din e-mail, klik på abonner, og følg instruktionerne i den udsendte e-mail.

Flere pressemeddelelser fra Udenrigsministeriet

I vores nyhedsrum kan du læse alle vores pressemeddelelser, tilgå materiale i form af billeder og dokumenter samt finde vores kontaktoplysninger.

Besøg vores nyhedsrum