News from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Denmark

Joint Statement by the EMASoH participating countries on the seizure and detention by Iran of two Greek ships in the Gulf


The countries participating in the European-led Maritime Awareness Mission in the Strait of Hormuz (EMASoH), Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, The Netherlands, Norway, and Portugal, condemn the seizure of two Greek oil tankers by Iran on May 27 and call on the Iranian authorities to immediately release the crews and ships.

The seizure of the two ships, while they were transiting in the Gulf, one of them in international waters, and their ongoing detention, put at risk the safety and freedom of navigation in the region in breach of international law.

We call for the immediate release of the two ships, their crews and cargoes, while ensuring the good treatment of the crew members, their access to consular assistance, supplies, and their free communication.

The EMASoH partners emphasize the utmost importance of maritime safety and freedom of navigation in an area crucial for international stability and commerce. EMASoH has been engaging constructively with the Governments of all bordering states in the Gulf, the Strait of Hormuz and the Gulf of Oman, to this avail. It remains committed to engaging in pursuit of this mission.

For more information contact 

About News from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Denmark

News from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Denmark
News from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Denmark
Asiatisk Plads 2
1448 København K


Subscribe to releases from News from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Denmark

Subscribe to all the latest releases from News from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Denmark by registering your e-mail address below. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Latest releases from News from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Denmark

Canada and the Kingdom of Denmark, together with Greenland, reach historic agreement on longstanding boundary disputes14.6.2022 21:00:43 CEST | Press release

June 14, 2022 - Ottawa, Ontario Today, Mélanie Joly, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Canada and Jeppe Kofod, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Denmark, along with Múte B. Egede, Prime Minister of Greenland, signed an agreement in Ottawa resolving outstanding boundary issues over Tartupaluk/Hans Island, the maritime boundary on the continental shelf within 200 nautical miles, including Lincoln Sea, and the continental shelf beyond 200 nautical miles in Labrador Sea. Inuit of Nunavut and Kalaallit Nunaat/Greenland were consulted during the negotiations of this agreement. It maintains the traditional, symbolic and historic significance of Tartupaluk/Hans Island both to Inuit in Kalaallit Nunaat, in particular in Avanersuaq, and to Inuit in Nunavut, and will ensure continued access to and freedom of movement on the entirety of the island. This agreement is a significant historic milestone in the relationship between friends and neighbours and is the culmination of years of discussions. The ef

Joint statement on the limited resumption of Arctic Council cooperation8.6.2022 16:00:36 CEST | Press release

In response to Russia’s full-scale invasion of Ukraine, a flagrant violation of the principles of sovereignty and territorial integrity, based on international law, the other Arctic Council founding states -- Canada, Finland, Iceland, the Kingdom of Denmark, Norway, Sweden, and the United States -- on March 3 announced a pause in their participation in the Arctic Council. Since March 3, representatives from these States have examined modalities to allow a resumption of the work in the Arctic Council.

In our pressroom you can read all our latest releases, find our press contacts, images, documents and other relevant information about us.

Visit our pressroom