Business Wire

ISL

Share

Aussies Chalmers, Titmus, Larkin & the Campbells Headline Swim Stars in ISL

Australian stars Kyle Chalmers, Cate and Bronte Campbell, Ariarne Titmus and Mitch Larkin will compete in a new professional league pitting the world’s best swimmers against each other in a revolutionary club-based competition, which will be shown exclusively live in Australia on 7plus.

The International Swimming League (ISL) will hold its inaugural meet in Indianapolis next month, when eight teams – four from the United States and four from Europe – will compete over two days in a full program of events over 50m to 400m.

This will be the first of seven ISL meets across the United States and Europe in 2019, with the top four teams qualifying for the final in Las Vegas in December.

With more than $5 million in prize money at stake, and most of swimming’s current Olympic champions and world-record holders set to take part, the competition will be fierce and is bound to showcase many of the captivating rivalries expected to take centre stage at the Olympic Games Tokyo 2020.

The international big names competing include Titmus’ great rival Katie Ledecky and fellow giants of the pool Adam Peaty, Sarah Sjostrom, Ryan Murphy, Federica Pellegrini, Chad le Clos and Nathan Adrian.

The Aussie contingent taking part also includes Emma McKeon, Cam McEvoy, Emily Seebohm, Clyde Lewis, Jess Hansen and Holly Barratt, giving swimming fans a chance like never before to track the progress of our brightest Olympic Games medal hopes as Tokyo 2020 draws ever closer.

Seven’s Head of Sport Saul Shtein said: “The ISL will give swimming an established place in the annual sporting calendar and offers sports fans the chance to watch the world’s best compete regularly in an exciting new format, while this inaugural season should also provide a tantalising lead-in to Tokyo 2020. We’re thrilled to bring it to our viewers and to be adding more premium live content to 7plus.”

Kontantin Grigorishin, ISL President, declared: "We are very excited about this partnership with Seven Sport, which will allow millions of fans in Australia to experience full live coverage of International Swimming League. The heart of swimming beats in Australia and will beat even stronger from October 6 with the first ever match of ISL in Indianapolis."

Swimming fans will also be able to watch highlights of every ISL meet on 7TWO and 7plus.

In 2020, Seven is the home of the Australian swimming Olympic Games trials and Tokyo 2020.

TV Broadcast times: October 6-7 ISL – Group A: Match 1 Indianapolis, USA Sydney 5.00am LIVE on 7plus Melbourne 5.00am LIVE on 7plus Brisbane 5.00am LIVE on 7plus Adelaide 4.30am LIVE on 7plus Perth 3.00am LIVE on 7plus

October 13-14 ISL – Group A: Match 2 Naples, Italy Sydney 4.00am LIVE on 7plus Melbourne 4.00am LIVE on 7plus Brisbane 3.00am LIVE on 7plus Adelaide 3.30am LIVE on 7plus Perth 1.00am LIVE on 7plus

October 20-21 ISL – Group B: Match 1 Dallas, USA Sydney 6.00am LIVE on 7plus Melbourne 6.00am LIVE on 7plus Brisbane 5.00am LIVE on 7plus Adelaide 5.30am LIVE on 7plus Perth 3.00am LIVE on 7plus

October 27-28 ISL – Group B: Match 2 Budapest, Hungary Sydney 4.00am LIVE on 7plus Melbourne 4.00am LIVE on 7plus Brisbane 3.00am LIVE on 7plus Adelaide 3.30am LIVE on 7plus Perth 1.00am LIVE on 7plus

November 17-18 ISL – USA Derby Washington DC, USA Sydney 6.00am LIVE on 7plus Melbourne 6.00am LIVE on 7plus Brisbane 5.00am LIVE on 7plus Adelaide 5.30am LIVE on 7plus Perth 3.00am LIVE on 7plus

November 24-25 ISL – Europe Derby London, UK Sydney 4.00am LIVE on 7plus Melbourne 4.00am LIVE on 7plus Brisbane 3.00am LIVE on 7plus Adelaide 3.30am LIVE on 7plus Perth 1.00am LIVE on 7plus

December 21-22 ISL – Final Las Vegas, USA TBC

Link:

ClickThru

About Business Wire

Business Wire
Business Wire
101 California Street, 20th Floor
CA 94111 San Francisco

http://businesswire.com